Please visit: Official Michael Franks Website

Michael Franks (born 18 September 1944 in La Jolla, California) is a smooth jazz singer and songwriter from the United States. He has recorded with a variety of well-known artists, such as Patti Austin, Brenda Russell, Art Garfunkel, and David Sanborn. His songs have been recorded by The Manhattan Transfer, Patti Labelle, Carmen McRae, Diana Krall, Shirley Bassey and The Carpenters

Franks grew up in southern California with his father Gerald, his mother Betty and younger sister Christine who is the mother of Connor Sullivan (The lead singer of The Royal Nonesuch). Although no one in his family played music, his parents loved swing music and his early influences included Peggy Lee, Nat King Cole, Ira Gershwin, Irving Berlin and Johnny Mercer. At age 14 Franks bought his first guitar, a Japanese Marco Polo for $29.95 with six private lessons included - the only music education that he received.
At University High in Irvine, Franks discovered the poetry of Theodore Roethke with his off-rhymes and hidden meter. In high school, he began singing folk-rock, accompanying himself on guitar. Studying English at UCLA Michael discovered Dave Brubeck, Patti Page, Stan Getz, João Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim and Miles Davis. He never studied music in college or later,[2] but earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from UCLA in comparative literature in 1966 and a Master of Arts degree from the University of Oregon in 1968. He had a teaching assistantship in a Ph.D. program in American literature at the University of Montreal before returning to teach part-time at UCLA.
During this time Franks started writing songs, starting with the antiwar musical Anthems in E-flat starring Mark Hamill. He also composed music for the films Count Your Bullets, Cockfighter, and Zandy's Bride, starring Liv Ullmann and Gene Hackman. Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee recorded three of his songs, including "White Boy Lost in the Blues" on their album Sonny & Brownie. Franks played guitar, banjo and mandolin on the album and joined them in touring. In 1973, he recorded an eponymous album, later reissued as Previously Unavailable, which included the minor hit "Can't Seem to Shake This Rock 'n Roll".
In 1975 Franks released his second album The Art of Tea, beginning a long relationship with Warner Brothers Music. The Art of Tea featured Joe Sample, Larry Carlton and Wilton Felder of The Crusaders and included the hit song "Popsicle Toes". His third album, Sleeping Gypsy (1977), which includes the song "The Lady Wants to Know", was partially recorded in Brazil. Around this time, percussionist Ray Armando gave Franks a cabasa, which became a signature instrument for him to play on stage when he was not playing guitar. Burchfield Nines (1978), which includes the song "When the Cookie Jar Is Empty", reflects his move to New York City and features more of an East Coast sound. Since then, Franks has recorded more than 15 albums.
His best known works include "When I Give My Love to You", "Popsicle Toes", "Monkey See, Monkey Do", "Tiger in the Rain", "Rainy Night in Tokyo", and "Tell Me All About It". His biggest hit came in 1983 with "When Sly Calls (Don't Touch That Phone)" from the album Passionfruit. Radio hits include "Your Secret's Safe With Me" from 1985's Skin Dive, and "Island Life" from 1987s The Camera Never Lies.

• 1973 Michael Franks (Brut) = 1983 Previously Unavailable (DRG; reissue of 1973's Michael Franks)
• 1975 The Art of Tea (Reprise)
• 1977 Sleeping Gypsy (Warner Bros.)
• 1978 Burchfield Nines (Warner Bros.)
• 1979 Tiger in the Rain (Warner Bros.)
• 1980 Michael Franks with Crossfire: Live (Warner Bros.)
• 1980 One Bad Habit (Warner Bros.)
• 1982 Objects of Desire (Warner Bros.)
• 1983 Passionfruit (Warner Bros.)
• 1983 Previously Unavailable (DRG; reissue of 1973's Michael Franks)
• 1985 Skin Dive (Warner Bros.)
• 1987 The Camera Never Lies (Warner Bros.)
• 1988 Indispensable(Warner Bros. 1988 - Import only)
• 1990 Blue Pacific (Reprise)
• 1991 Antonio´s Song (Korean release)
• 1993 Dragonfly Summer (Warner Bros.)
• 1995 Abandoned Garden (Warner Bros.)
• 1998 The Best of Michael Franks: A Backward Glance (Warner Bros.; compilation)
• 1999 Barefoot on the Beach (Windham Hill)
• 2001 Michael Franks With Crossfire Live(re-released)
• 2003 The Michael Franks Anthology: The Art of Love (Warner Bros; compilation)
• 2003 Watching the Snow (Rhino; rereleased in 2007 on Koch Records)
• 2004 Love Songs (Warner Bros.; compilation)
• 2006 Rendezvous in Rio (Koch Records)
• 2011 Time Together (12 Between Us)
• 2012 Dream 1973-2011-five CD anthology (Warner Bros)

Search With Google

* M I C H A E L F R A N K S * info * discography * pictures *

1973-Michael Franks - "Michael Franks"(01)

The Tracks are:
01/Can't Seem To Shake This Rock 'n Roll
02/Just Like Key Largo
03/When Blackbirds Fly
04/Lovesick Lizzie
05/Life's Little Highway
06/King Of Oklahoma
07/Dobro Ladies
08/Three Today
09/Little Sparrow
10/Born With The Moon In Virgo

Musicians on the Michael Franks 1973 album:
Michael Franks, Tom Scott, Paul Humphrey, Wendy Waldman, Louie Shelton, Max Bennett, Bobby Bruce, Larry Bunker, Gene Cipriano, Ed Greene, Carol Kaye, Steve La Fever, Richard Markowitz, Jerry McGee, Ollie Mitchell, Larry Muhoberac, David Paich, Michael Price, Maurice Rodgers, Kenny Shroyer, Tommy Tedesco, Tony Terran, Lloyd Ulyate & Chauncey Welsch.
Available from Brut Records/Original release year 1973

No comments:

Post a Comment